2018 Recipients

AARON MONTZ, City of Tiffin

In 2011, Aaron Montz was the youngest person to be elected Mayor of Tiffin in the City’s history at 26 years old, and he was reelected in 2015 with over 85% of the vote, the largest win ever for a Mayor with a challenger. Since being elected, he has helped reduce the unemployment rate in Tiffin from 9.9% to 3.9%, founded the Seneca County Young Professionals (SCYP), and his leadership has led to a renaissance in not only downtown Tiffin but the community as a whole.

Montz earned his bachelor’s degree in history from Heidelberg University with a minor in political science. He won the 2017 Seneca Industrial and Economic Development Corporation’s (SIEDC) President’s Award and helped Tiffin rank in the top 10% of nearly 600 micropolitans nationwide as named by Site Selection magazine.

Montz is an active member in the community, serving as a board member of the Seneca Regional Chamber of Commerce and Visitor Services, as a board member of SIEDC, as president of the Northwest Ohio Mayors and Managers Association (NOMMA), as past president and current board member of the Seneca Regional Planning Commission, and is involved in a range of other organizations as well.