2022 Recipients


Advocates for Basic Legal Equality

Dawson, an attorney, serves in the Housing practice group at ABLE and advocates for residents in the Junction Neighborhood. She has successfully garnered increased police surveillance at the Dorr/Collingwood Plaza and assists residents with legal issues.

Active in the community, Dawson was a member of the inaugural class of Engage Toledo and was the first chairman of the Humas Relations Commission. She currently serves as the Mediation chair and works as a neutral third-party in dispute resolution. She drafted the Cities for CEDAW legislation. CEDAW contributes to making Toledo a Welcoming City. Dawson is vice President of the Thurgood Marshall Law Association and is devoted to ensuring the well being of local attorneys and students. She is also the Unity Coalition liaison for the Ohio Legislative Black Caucus. Dawson serves on the board of Wholelistics and Self-E.S.T.E.A.M.

Following her graduation from of the University of Toledo, she earned a JD/MBA from the UT College of Law. During law school, she taught the Law and Leadership program designed to introduce youth to law. She also interned in the Toledo public defender’s office representing indigent clients. She was awarded a full-ride undergraduate scholarship, Toledo Women’s Bar Association Scholarship and the Thurgood Marshall Law Association Scholarship and was the inaugural recipient of the Myron Duhart Scholarship.

Raina Dawson